About

The Samoylov Island research station (SI RS) was built in 2010 in order to develop Arctic environmental studies. Trofimuk institute of Petroleum Geology and Geophysics, Siberian Branch of Russian Academy of Sciences (IPGG SB RAS) has been an operator of the station since 2012. The station operates in a full-year regime and is equipped with a set of modern scientific instruments and tools which may require in different fields of research (bio- and geochemistry, geophysics, climatic studies, hydrology, etc.). There are several laboratories and workshop rooms and a number of additional utility spaces. Speaking of accommodation, the station provides very high level of comfort, standing in a row with best world analogues (comfortable living rooms, modern kitchen and dining room, conference hall, shower, sauna, recreational rooms, internet connection with Wi-Fi). The available transportation means (several boats, cross-terrain vehicles, snowmobiles) provide access to the wide area around the station in radius up to 200 km all the year round.

IPGG SB RAS together with a number of Russian and foreign partners develops a joint Arctic research program to organize and perform a multidisciplinary research in geocryology (permafrost research), paleogeography, climatic and paleoclimatic sciences, hydrology and hydrobiology, geomorphology and quaternary geology, soil science, geobotany, microbiology and study of gas emission from permafrost soils, geophysics, zoology and biology. The station is a key site for these studies. IPGG SB RAS with the Samoylov Island RS is open for new scientific and educational projects and will be happy to provide its resources for partners considering three ways of collaboration:

  • joint scientific or/and educational project;
  • participation in IPGG SB RAS research team;
  • independent project with the use of the station facilities.

Google Earth photo of Lena river delta – fourth biggest delta in the World
(Station coordinates: 72,369° N; 126,474° E WGS84, decimal degrees)

Samoylov Island research station

Station scheme

Station transport: all-terrain vehicles, boats of different types (including rubber boats for shallow water), helipad.

Main building.
Station is divided into three modules: laboratory, residential and storage. Main entrance, kitchen, dining room, recreational rooms and conference hall are in the center. Each module has its own entrance.

 

Several laboratory rooms contain additional equipment for biological and chemical analyses – dryers, laboratory dishes, air exhausts, freezers, centrifuges, gas analyzers, microscopes, etc. Multiparameter sensors, ground penetrating radar, water samplers, drilling devices and so on are available for use.
Canteen.
Life at station is greatly facilitated by a fully equipped kitchen and dining area. Storage rooms with refrigerators allow to use even shortlived goods for a whole working period.

 

Residential module.
Up to 25 persons can be accommodated simultaneously in comfortable rooms (3-4 persons in a room) with beds and furniture.
Shower, sauna, WC (men and women), airing cupboards and washing machines are in shared use. Wooden banya is on the lake bank (50 m from the station).
Billiard room.
There are some recreational spaces in the station: billiard room, gym, ping-pong, sauna.
Conference hall.
The station is supplied with a lot of electrical outlets, Internet connection, Wi-Fi, office equipment.
Big part of northern territory is covered by permafrost which contains ice in the form of polygonal wedges. Such patterns cover huge areas in the Lena river delta – the biggest delta in the whole Arctic.
Outcrop of the ice complex composed mostly of ice with a bit of fine earth and organic matter. Degrading permafrost has a great influence on the Earth climate. Organic matter stored in the frozen sediments can be involved into nature cycles after thawing and change a number of biological and chemical processes in soil, water and atmosphere.
Over 100 bird species concentrate in the delta at the nesting sites: geese, ducks, swans, different waders, gulls, and terns. Here can be found Tundra Swan, Red-throated Loon, Snow Goose, King Eider, Sabine’s Gull, Long-billed Dowitcher and many other species.
Reindeers fording.
Big part of the Lena river delta is a nature reserve. Polar wolves, wolverines, musk oxes, Arctic foxes, reindeers and lemmings populate the delta. River branches are full of wild fish (salmon, sturgeon and siberian endemics – muksun, nelma).
More than 250 species of higher vascular plants can be found on the Samoylov Island and in its close vicinity. Among them orchids, endangered species listed in Yakutia Red Book and few endemics. Due to the short northern summer most of them flower at the end of July simultaneously.
Midnight sun.
Perpetual day allows an activity at any time in a 24-hour period and illuminates the northern nature at nighttime hours in extraordinary colors.

О станции

Научно-исследовательская станция “Остров Самойловский” построена в 2010 году с целью развития исследований Арктической природной среды. Институт нефтегазовой геологии и геофизики им. А. А. Трофимука Сибирского отделения Российской академии наук (ИНГ СО РАН) является оператором станции с 2012 года. Станция функционирует круглый год и обладает современной базой научной аппаратуры и инструментов, востребованных в различных сферах исследований (био- и геохимия, геофизика, климатические исследования, гидрология и т.д.). На станции оборудованы несколько лабораторий и мастерских, а также множество вспомогательных помещений. Бытовые условия на станции характеризуются весьма высокой степенью комфорта на уровне лучших мировых аналогов (комфортабельные жилые комнаты, современные кухня и столовая, конференц-зал, душ, сауна, комнаты отдыха, Интернет-соединение с доступом по Wi-Fi). Станционный транспорт (несколько маломерных судов, вездеходы, снегоходы) обеспечивают доступ к значительной территории в окрестности станции в радиусе до 200 км в течение всего года.

ИНГГ СО РАН в кооперации с рядом российских и зарубежных партнёров развивает совместную программу исследования Арктики с целью организации и проведения междисциплинарных исследований в области геокриологии (мерзлотоведения), палеогеографии, климатологии и палеоклиматологии, гидрологии и гидробиологии, геоморфологии и четвертичной геологии, почвоведения, микробиологии и изучения газовой эмиссии из многолетнемёрзлых почв, геофизики, зоологии, биологии и геоботаники. Станция является ключевым пунктом этих исследований. ИНГГ СО РАН с научно-исследовательской станцией “Остров Самойловский” готов к сотрудничеству по новым научным и образовательным проектам и с радостью предоставит ресурсы станции партнёрам в рамках следующих форм сотрудничества:

  • совместный научный и/или образовательный проект;
  • интеграция в научный коллектив ИНГГ СО РАН;
  • независимый проект с использованием возможностей станции.

Снимок Google Earth дельты р. Лена — четвёртой по величине дельты в мире
(Координаты станции: 72,369° N; 126,474° E WGS84, десятичные градусы)

Научно-исследовательская станция “Остров Самойловский”

Схема станции

Станционный транспорт: вездеходы, маломерные суда различного типа (в т.ч. резиновые лодки для малых глубин), вертолётная площадка.

Главное здание.
Станция разделена на три модуля: лабораторный, жилой и складской. Главный вход, кухня, обеденный зал, комнаты отдыха и конференц-зал находятся в центре. Каждый модуль оборудован отдельным входом.

 

Несколько лабораторий оснащены вспомогательным оборудованием для биологических и химических анализов — сушилки, лабораторная посуда, вытяжка, морозильные камеры, центрифуги, газоанализаторы, микроскопы и т.д. Также доступны для использования многопараметрические датчики, георадар, пробоотборники воды, буровые установки и многое другое.
Обеденный зал.
На станции имеется полностью оборудованная кухня и обеденный зал.
Складские помещения с рефрижераторами позволяют питаться свежими продуктами на протяжении всего периода работ.

 

Жилой модуль.

Комфортабельные 3-4-местные комнаты с кроватями и мебелью позволяют разместить на станции до 25 персон одновременно.

Душ, сауна, раздельные санузлы, сушильные шкафы и стиральные машины в общем пользовании. На берегу озера в 50 м от станции расположена деревянная баня.

Бильярдная.
На станции имеется несколько мест отдыха:
бильярдная, тренажёрный зал, настольный теннис, сауна.
Конференц-зал.

Станция обеспечена множеством розеток, Интернет-соединением, Wi-Fi, офисным оборудованием.

Большая часть северных территорий покрыта многолетнемёрзлыми отложениями, содержащими лёд в виде полигональных жил.
Подобные текстуры покрывают огромные области в дельте р. Лена — крупнейшей дельте в Арктике.
Обнажение ледового комплекса, состоящего преимущественно изо льда с включением мелкозернистых рыхлых пород и органического материала.
Деградирующие многолетнемёрзлые породы оказывают большое влияние на глобальный климат. Органическое вещество, накопленное в мёрзлых осадочных породах может быть вовлечено в природные циклы и изменить множество биологических и химических процессов в почве, воде и атмосфере.
Более 100 видов птиц собираются в дельте на гнездование: гуси, утки, лебеди, различные цапли, чайки и крачки. Здесь можно наблюдать малого лебедя, краснозобую гагару, белого гуся, гагу-гребенушку, белохвостую чайку, американского бекасовидного веретенника.
Северные олени переходят вброд протоку.
Большая часть дельты р. Лена является заповедной территорией. Полярные волки, росомахи, овцебыки, песцы, северные олени и лемминги населяют дельту. Речные протоки полны рыбой (лососевые, осётровые и сибирские эндемики — муксун, нельма).
Более 250 видов высших сосудистых растений наблюдаются на о. Самойловский и в ближайшей окрестности. Кроме того, здесь растут орхидеи, виды, занесённые в Красную книгу Якутии, и несколько эндемиков. Благодаря короткому севернному лету большинство из них цветут одновременно в конце июля.
Полуночное солнце.
Полярный день позволяет активность в любое время суток и окрашивает северную природу в ночные часы в необычайные цвета.